>lest the cross be emptied of its power

>”For Christ did not send me to baptize but to preach the gospel, and not with words of eloquent wisdom, lest the cross of Christ be emptied of its power.” – 1 Corinthians 1:17

Not with words of eloquent wisdom…lest the cross of Christ be emptied of its power.

It hit me as I was reading the bible, for the first time in a very long while, that I’ve got it all wrong, again. The gospel is not something I can market. It’s not sellable. I cannot wrap it up in different packaging and expect anyone to accept it. As a matter of fact, it’s not even mine to offer.

Sometimes I feel I treat it like it’s the product of some kinda superstar endorsement deal. “Hey, it’s okay! Cool people can be Christians too. Just look at me!” You have to be cool first, Brice. 

Leave a Reply

